Congratulations to FOMI President Dr John McKoy who was recently recognised for his community work. 

John received a civic award for his work with Pauatahanui Community Trust, Guardians of the Pautahanui Inlet (GOPI), Friends of Mana Island, Te Awarua-o-Porirua Whaitua and Friends of Taupo Swamp.

John was previously chief scientist at NIWA and is committed to improving the ecological health of the Pauatahanui Inlet and Porirua Harbour.

We are very grateful to have his experience and dedication to FOMI’s work.

Civic awards Porirua 2019

John McKoy is second from the right. Other recipients from left are Geoff Mowday, Judi Doornbos, Chrissy Leggott and Kim Murray. With Porirua Mayor Mike Tana on the right.